The Ballon d’Or Award Winners Full List From 1956-2022

Ballon d Or Award Winners List - Karim Benzema

Ballon d Or Award Winners List (1956-2022): Karim Benzema is the most recent Ballon d’Or 2022 award winner. Lionel Messi, football’s most successful player, has won the Ballon d’Or award seven times between 1956 and 2021, while Cristiano Ronaldo has won it five times. However, it was only open to European players at European clubs until 1995. The Ballon d’Or award was frequently referred to as the European Footballer of the Year award. In 1995, the rules were changed to allow non-European players who played for a European club to be eligible for the award. Since 2007, any football player from any country has been eligible to win the award.

The Ballon d’Or and FIFA Player of the Year awards were merged between 2009 and 2015 to form the FIFA Ballon d’Or. The first women’s Ballon d’Or award (called the Ballon d’Or Féminin) was presented in 2018. The award was merged with the FIFA Player of the Year award after 2009. France Football announced in 2016 that their partnership with FIFA was ending and that they would resurrect the Ballon d’Or award, with the 2016 edition becoming the 61st award. But there was no award in 2020 due to the disruption to world sports caused by the coronavirus pandemic. Let’s take a look at the complete list of Ballon d Or award winners (from 1956-2022).

Men’s Ballon d’Or Award Winners From 1956-2022

Ball d’Or Winners list Video – Source (YouTube)
YearPlayerNationalityFootball Club
2022Karim BenzemaFranceReal Madrid
2021Lionel MessiArgentinaParis Saint-Germain (PSG)
2020Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this award was not given.
2019Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2018Luka ModricCroatiaReal Madrid
2017Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2016Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2015Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2014Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2013Cristiano RonaldoPortugalReal Madrid
2012Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2011Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2010Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2009Lionel MessiArgentinaBarcelona
2008Cristiano RonaldoPortugalManchester United
2007Kaká BrazilMilan
2006Fabio CannavaroItalyReal Madrid
2004Andriy ShevchenkoUkraineMilan
2003Pavel NedvědCzech RepublicJuventus
2002RonaldoBrazilReal Madrid
2001Michael OwenEnglandLiverpool
2000Luís FigoPortugalReal Madrid
1998Zinedine ZidaneFranceJuventus
1996Matthias SammerGermanyBorussia Dortmund
1995George WeahLiberiaMilan
1994Hristo StoichkovBulgariaBarcelona
1993Roberto BaggioItalyJuventus
1992Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1991Jean-Pierre PapinFranceMarseille
1990Lothar MatthäusGermanyInternazionale
1989Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1988Marco van BastenNetherlandsMilan
1987Ruud GullitNetherlandsMilan
1986Igor BelanovSoviet UnionDynamo Kyiv
1985Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1984Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1983Michel PlatiniFranceJuventus
1982Paolo RossiItalyJuventus
1981Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1980Karl-Heinz RummeniggeWest GermanyBayern Munich
1979Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1978Kevin KeeganEnglandHamburg
1977Allan SimonsenDenmarkBorussia Mönchengladbach II
1976Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1975Oleg BlokhinSoviet UnionFC Dynamo Kyiv
1974Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1973Johan CruyffNetherlandsBarcelona
1972Franz BeckenbauerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1971Johan CruyffNetherlandsAFC Ajax
1970Gerd MüllerWest GermanyBayern Munich
1969Gianni RiveraItalyA.C. Milan
1968George BestNorthern IrelandManchester United
1967Flórián AlbertHungaryFerencvárosi TC
1966Bobby CharltonEnglandManchester United
1965EusébioPortugalS.L. Benfica
1964Denis LawScotlandManchester United
1963Lev YashinSoviet UnionDynamo Moscow
1962Josef MasopustCzechoslovakiaDukla Prague
1961Omar SívoriItalyJuventus
1960Luis SuárezSpainBarcelona
1959Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1958Raymond KopaFranceReal Madrid
1957Alfredo Di StéfanoSpainReal Madrid
1956Stanley MatthewsEnglandBlackpool

Women’s Ballon d Or (Ballon d’Or Féminin) Award Winners (2018-2022).

Alexia Putellas (Ballon d’Or 2022 Winner)

Alexia Putellas (Ballon d'Or 2021 winner)
Image Source: EuroSport

Alexia Putellas became the third female football player to win the Women’s Ballon d’Or 2022 after a treble-winning season for Barcelona. The Spanish midfielder was a key figure in Barcelona’s treble-winning season, helping the club win the Women’s Champions League, Primera Iberdrola, and Copa de la Reina. Alexia Putellas was the best football player on an excellent Barcelona team in the 2021 season, contributing 37 goals and 27 assists.

Megan Rapinoe Ballon d’Or 2019 Winner.

Megan Rapinoe Ballon d'Or 2019 Winner.
Image Source: Equalizer Soccer

After leading the United States to the World Cup title in July, the American forward footballer won the Women’s Ballon d’Or in 2019. Megan Rapinoe scored 6 goals in the tournament, earning the Golden Boot as the tournament’s leading goal scorer and the Golden Ball as the tournament’s best football player.

Ada Hegerberg Ballon d’Or 2018 Winner.

Ada Hegerberg Ballon d'Or 2018 Winner.
Image Source:

Ada Hegerberg of Olympique Lyonnais won the Ballon d’Or after scoring 53 goals in 33 appearances for the club. Also, Hegerberg’s 31 league goals made her the top scorer in D1 Féminine for the third year in a row, while her 15 Champions League goals set a new competition record, surpassing her previous best of 14 goals. The Norway captain led her team to the Women’s Champions League title, scoring in extra time in the final 4-1 victory over Vfl Wolfsburg.

2022Alexia PutellasSpainBarcelona
2021Alexia PutellasSpainBarcelona
2020Due to the coronavirus pandemic, this award was not given.
2019Megan RapinoeUSAReign FC
2018Ada HegerbergNorwayOlympique Lyonnais

How Much Is The Ballon d’Or Worth | Ballon d’Or Winner Prize Money?

How Much Is The Ballon d’Or Worth | Ballon d’or Winner Prize Money
Image Source: Twitter

The current Ballon d’Or has very specific characteristics that make it appealing to players; it is 28 cm tall, 22 cm wide, and weighs around 12 kg, with two brass plates embossed to give them the shape of a ball. The Ballon d’Or award, which is worth slightly more than 3,000 euros, consists of a sphere filled with a wax-like material that is chiseled to give the shape and seam of the spherical representation. It is then dipped in fine gold and engraved with the France Football logo and the winner’s name. The winner of the award receives USD 20,000 in prize money, according to FIFA. The Ballon d’Or is worth approximately Rs. 14,89,680.00 in Indian Rupees.

Who has the most golden boots?

Who has the most golden boots?
Image Source: Twitter

Lionel Messi holds the record for golden boot winners, having won it 6 times in his career, more than any other footballer. However, he also holds the record for the most goals scored in a calendar year and the most points in a single season (2011-2012).

Also, Check out: Who Has The Highest Goals In A Calendar Year? | All-time Rankings.


This is our exclusive list of the ballon d or award winners from 1956 to 2022. This list of ballon d or award winners is updated based on We hope you enjoyed reading about the ballon d or award winners. Please share your thoughts in the comment section below. The information on this page is subject to change at any time. Our website makes no guarantees about the accuracy of the information.

Chethan HC

Hello, I'm a freelance writer and author. I've been writing sports articles for various websites for a few years now, and I enjoy it; I keep most of the recent activities on this blog up to date. I enjoy writing about a variety of topics and learning about new and exciting subjects. I'm a huge football fan who also enjoys playing the game. I hope you find my blogs informative. Have a nice time, Thanks...!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.